## COMMISSIONERS ROOM, HOLDREGE, NE 10:00 A.M. January 9, 2024

The Phelps County Board of Commissioners met in session on January 9, 2024, as advertised, with Commissioners Theresa Puls; Russ Cruise; Barb Malm; Rick Streeter; Dennis Ostgren and Tom Nutt present. Matt Gregg was absent. The Meeting was called to order by Sally Fox, County Clerk. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited. Sally announced the open meeting law would be in effect and that a copy is posted on the wall. Sally requested nominations for Chairman of the Board. Malm nominated Theresa Puls, seconded by Cruise. There being no other nominations Ostgren moved, seconded by Nutt, the nomination ceased. Roll call vote was Cruise, yes; Puls, abstained; Streeter, yes; Malm, yes; Ostgren, yes; Nutt yes. Gregg absent. Motion carried. Cruise nominated Dennis Ostgren for Vice Chairman of the Board, seconded by Streeter. There being no other nominations Nutt moved, seconded by Streeter, the nomination ceased. Roll call vote was Cruise, yes; Malm, yes; Nutt, yes; Streeter, yes; Ostgren, abstain; Puls yes. Gregg absent. Motion carried. Newly elected Chairman Puls took over the meeting. Ostgren moved, seconded by Streeter, to approve the minutes of the previous meeting. Roll call vote was Cruise, yes; Ostgren, yes; Streeter, yes; Nutt, yes; Malm, yes; Puls, yes. Gregg absent. Motion carried.

At 10:03 a.m. the Board went into session as a Board of Equalization. Matt Gregg was absent. Patti Meguire, County Treasurer, Sally Fox, County Clerk and Natalie Nelsen-Pacey, County Attorney were present. Patti reviewed the 2024 exempt motor vehicle list and after discussion Streeter moved, seconded by Cruise, to approve the 2024 tax exempt motor vehicle list. Roll call vote was Cruise, yes; Ostgren, yes; Streeter, yes; Nutt, yes; Malm, yes; Puls, yes. Gregg absent. Motion carried.

The Board resumed regular session as a Board of Commissioners at 10:04 a.m.

Bobby Hamilton, Highway Supt., met with the Board with his road and weed report. Bobby reviewed his annual state weed report with the Board and after discussion Streeter moved, seconded by Ostgren, to approve the weed superintendent's annual state weed report as presented. Roll call vote was Cruise, yes; Ostgren, yes; Streeter, yes; Nutt, yes; Malm, yes; Puls, yes. Gregg absent. Motion carried. The road crew will perform the annual night-time reflectivity sign inspection on January 23<sup>rd</sup> & 24<sup>th</sup>.

Cruise moved, seconded by Nutt, to approve resolution 24-1 on bank deposits with banking institutions from First State Bank of Bertrand; First State Bank of Loomis; FirstInterstate Bank; Firs Tier Bank, Bruning State Bank; The First State Bank of Holdrege and NPAIT. Roll call vote was Cruise, yes; Ostgren, yes; Streeter, yes; Nutt, yes; Malm, yes; Puls, yes. Gregg absent. Motion carried.

Nutt moved, seconded by Malm, to designate NACO Phelps County website as one of the official means of publication. Roll call vote was Cruise, yes; Ostgren, yes; Streeter, yes; Nutt, yes; Malm, yes; Puls, yes. Gregg absent. Motion carried.

The Board agreed to retain the current meeting days and times for this year. Which will be the first four Tuesdays of the month and will begin at 9:00 a.m. with no meeting held on May 14 and November 5 due to the Primary and General Election. Malm moved, seconded by Cruise, to approve the meeting days and time. Roll call vote was Cruise, yes; Ostgren, yes; Streeter, yes; Nutt, yes; Malm, yes; Puls, yes. Gregg absent. Motion carried.

Streeter moved, seconded by Ostgren, to approve the primary official county newspaper with Holdrege Citizen. Roll call vote was Cruise, yes; Ostgren, yes; Streeter, yes; Nutt, yes; Malm, yes; Puls, yes. Gregg absent. Motion carried.

Streeter moved, seconded by Ostgren, to retain the following appointments of Bobby Hamilton as Road Supt & part-time Weed Supt., Justin Norris as Emergency Management; Travis Horner as Veteran's Service Officer and Ron Melbye as part-time Planning and Zoning. Roll call vote was Cruise, yes; Ostgren, yes; Streeter, yes; Nutt, yes; Malm, yes; Puls, yes. Gregg absent. Motion carried.

Ostgren moved, seconded by Nutt, to approve the legal holidays and close early dates for 2024. Roll call vote was Cruise, yes; Ostgren, yes; Streeter, yes; Nutt, yes; Malm, yes; Puls, yes. Gregg absent. Motion carried.

		Monday, Sept. 2	Labor Day
Monday, Jan. 15	Martin Luther King Day	Monday, Oct. 14	Columbus Day
Monday, Feb. 19	President's Day	Monday, Nov. 11	Veterans Day
Monday, May 27	Memorial Day	Thursday, Nov. 28	Thanksgiving
Wednesday, June 19	Juneteenth Day	Friday, Nov. 29	Day after Thanksgiving
Thursday, July 4	Independence Day	Wednesday, Dec. 25	Christmas Day
Friday, July 5	Day after Independence Day Floating holiday	Wednesday, Jan. 1	New Year's Day, 2025

## COURTHOUSE EARLY CLOSE DATES:

Friday, March 29, Good Friday at noon Tuesday, December 24, Christmas Eve at noon Tuesday, December 31. New Year's Eve at 3:00 pm

Streeter moved, seconded by Cruise, to set the mileage rate for 2024 at .67¢ and the sheriff fee for serving papers at .70¢ based on the information from the state auditor. Roll call vote was Cruise, yes; Ostgren, yes; Streeter, yes; Nutt, yes; Malm, yes; Puls, yes. Gregg absent. Motion carried.

The Board approved the 2024 committee appointments.

Cruise moved, seconded by Malm, to approve the reappointment of Becky schwarz and Riley Nicols for a 3year term and appoint John Poppert for a 3-year term to the Phelps County Extension Board requested in a letter from Toddy Witney. Roll call vote was Cruise, yes; Ostgren, yes; Streeter, yes; Nutt, yes; Malm, yes; Puls, yes. Gregg absent. Motion carried.

Barb discussed a meeting she attended.

The meeting adjourned at 11:09 a.m.

Sally Fox, County Clerk

Theresa Puls, Chairman of the Board