COMMISSIONERS ROOM, HOLDREGE, NE 9:00 A.M. January 23, 2024

The Phelps County Board of Commissioners met in regular session on January 23, 2024, as advertised, with Commissioners Dennis Ostgren; Barb Malm; Russ Cruise; Tom Nutt; Rick Streeter and Matt Gregg present. Theresa Puls was absent. The meeting was called to order by Vice-Chairman Ostgren. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited. Dennis announced the open meeting law would be in effect and that a copy is posted on the wall. Cruise moved, seconded by Streeter, to approve the minutes of the previous meeting. Roll call vote was Nutt, yes; Malm, yes; Streeter, yes; Cruise, yes; Gregg, yes; Ostgren, yes. Puls absent. Motion carried.

Nutt moved, seconded by Malm, to approve January payroll claims in the amount of \$278,629.28 for the general, \$74,408.11 for the road and \$1,926.89 for the weed fund. Roll call vote was Nutt, yes; Malm, yes; Streeter, yes; Cruise, yes; Gregg, yes; Ostgren, yes. Puls absent. Motion carried.

Bobby Hamilton, Highway Supt., met with the Board with his annual road and gravel report after discussion Gregg moved, seconded by Streeter, to accept the annual road and gravel report presented by Hamilton. Roll call vote was Nutt, yes; Malm, yes; Streeter, yes; Cruise, yes; Gregg, yes; Ostgren, yes. Puls absent. Motion carried.

Bobby discussed the bridge damage on 746 & C Rd which was damaged by Carlson Bros. The total damage for the bridge damage and sign damage is \$20,071.16. After discussion Cruise moved, seconded by Malm, to approve the signing of the property damage release claim which Phelps County will recoup the cost. Roll call vote was Nutt, yes; Malm, yes; Streeter, yes; Cruise, yes; Gregg, yes; Ostgren, yes. Puls absent. Motion carried.

Larissa Davenport, County Assessor, met with the Board to discuss the method the county should use for section 42 rent restricted properties. Larissa spoke to the state about different methods, and they suggested the county stay with the state method.

Barb, Rick and Tom discussed meetings they attended.	
The meeting adjourned at 9:39 am	
Sally Fox, County Clerk	Dennis Ostgren, Vice- Chairman Board of Commissioner