## COMMISSIONERS ROOM, HOLDREGE, NE 9:00 A.M. June 11, 2024

The Phelps County Board of Commissioners met in regular session on June 11, 2024, as advertised, with Commissioners Dennis Ostgren; Russ Cruise; Tom Nutt; Barb Malm; Matt Gregg; Rick Streeter and Theresa Puls present. The meeting was called to order by Chairman Puls. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited. Theresa announced the open meeting law would be in effect and that a copy is posted on the wall. Streeter moved, seconded by Ostgren, to approve the minutes of the previous meeting. Roll call vote was Nutt, yes; Cruise, yes; Gregg, yes; Malm, yes; Streeter, yes; Ostgren, yes; Puls, yes. Motion carried.

At 9:00 a.m. the Board went into session as a Board of Equalization, Larissa Davenport, County Assessor, Sally Fox, County Clerk and Natalie Nelsen-Pacey, County Attorney were present. Larissa discussed the form 425 report of destroyed real property from Sheryl Olson. Larissa recommended changing the reassessment value to \$296,514. Gregg moved, seconded by Nutt, to reduce the value based on the Assessor's recommendation. Roll call vote was Nutt, yes; Cruise, yes; Gregg, yes; Malm, yes; Streeter, yes; Ostgren, yes; Puls, yes. Motion carried.

Larissa presented the 3-year assessment plan to the Board and after discussion Streeter moved, seconded by Ostgren, to accept the 3-year assessment plan. Roll call vote was Nutt, yes; Cruise, yes; Gregg, yes; Malm, yes; Streeter, yes; Ostgren, yes; Puls, yes. Motion carried.

Cruise moved, seconded by Malm, to approve resolution/exhibit #2. Roll call vote was Nutt, yes; Cruise, yes; Gregg, yes; Malm, yes; Streeter, yes; Ostgren, yes; Puls, yes. Motion carried.

The Board resumed its regular session as a Board of Commissioners at 9:15 a.m.

Gene Samuelson, Sheriff, met with the Board to discuss purchasing posts for the flashing speed limit signs. The county purchased flashing speed limit signs for the Villages in November, at the time they were told they could be installed on the existing speed limit signs. Now Gene was told that the size and state requirements are not met using existing posts and need to be on a16 ft post. Gene has a quote from Radarsign for \$11,204. After discussion Streeter moved, seconded by Cruise, to purchase the posts from Radarsign for the price of \$11,204 and pay for it out of the inheritance fund. Roll call vote was Nutt, yes; Cruise, yes; Gregg, yes; Malm, yes; Streeter, yes; Ostgren, yes; Puls, yes. Motion carried.

Bobby Hamilton, Highway Supt., met with the Board with his road report. He told the Board that he is doing another 4 miles of crack sealing on 748 Rd from A Rd to E Rd which is an additional cost of \$4,020. Bobby discussed the Federal Funding Purchase Program for our buyback fund. Phelps County will be receiving \$49,311.33 for bridges and \$112,007.66 for STP, carbon and box culverts.

The Board discussed the budget and decided to allow a 4% wage increase to employees as a guideline for their budget.

Nutt moved, seconded by Ostgren, to approve resolution 24-4 for approval of the cash-in-lieu program for the employees and continue the benefits in the amount of \$500 for single and \$900 for family. Roll call vote was Nutt, yes; Cruise, yes; Gregg, yes; Malm, yes; Streeter, yes; Ostgren, yes; Puls, yes. Motion carried.

Streeter moved, seconded by Gregg, to approve monthly reports of clerk, sheriff and clerk of district court. Roll call vote was Nutt, yes; Cruise, yes; Gregg, yes; Malm, yes; Streeter, yes; Ostgren, yes; Puls, yes. Motion carried.

The Board reviewed the contract with Kristine Jacobson/KRJPR for the Phelps County Visitors Committee. The contract is from July 1, 2024, until June 30, 2025. The monthly fee is increasing \$200 per month and the new rate is \$1,200 per month. After discussion Malm moved, seconded by Cruise, to approve the contract with Kristine Jacobson. Roll call vote was Nutt, yes; Cruise, yes; Gregg, yes; Malm, yes; Streeter, yes; Ostgren, yes; Puls, yes. Motion carried.

Tom, Rick and Theresa discussed meetings they attended.	
The meeting adjourned at 10:24 a.m.	
Sally Fox, County Clerk	Theresa Puls, Chairman Board of Commissioner