COMMISSIONERS ROOM, HOLDREGE, NE 9:00 A.M. January 14, 2025

The Phelps County Board of Commissioners met in regular session on January 14, 2025, at 9:00 A.M. as per public notice given in the Holdrege Daily Citizen on January 7, 2025, a copy of the proof of publication being on file in the County Clerk's Office. Availability of the agendas was communicated in the advance notice of the meeting. All of the proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

Commissioners Matt Gregg; Russ Cruise; Barb Malm; Rick Streeter; Dennis Ostgren and Tom Nutt present. Theresa Puls was absent. The Meeting was called to order by Sally Fox, County Clerk. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited. Sally announced the open meeting law would be in effect and that a copy is posted on the wall. Sally requested nominations for Chairman of the Board. Nutt nominated Dennis Ostgren, seconded by Gregg. There being no other nominations Malm moved, seconded by Cruise, the nomination ceased. Roll call vote was Cruise, yes; Streeter, yes; Malm, yes; Ostgren, abstain; Nutt, yes; Gregg, yes. Puls absent. Motion carried. Cruise nominated Barb Malm for Vice Chairman of the Board, seconded by Ostgren. There being no other nominations Cruise moved, seconded by Nutt, the nomination ceased. Roll call vote was Cruise, yes; Malm, abstain; Nutt, yes; Streeter, yes; Ostgren, yes; Gregg, yes. Puls absent. Motion carried. Newly elected Chairman Ostgren took over the meeting. Nutt moved, seconded by Cruise, to approve the minutes of the previous meeting. Roll call vote was Cruise, yes; Gregg, yes; Streeter, yes; Nutt, yes; Malm, yes; Ostgren, yes. Puls absent. Motion carried. The Board Chairman has the authority to sign checks.

Gregg moved, seconded by Malm, to approve resolution 25-1 on bank deposits with banking institutions from First State Bank of Bertrand; First State Bank of Loomis; First Interstate Bank; Firs Tier Bank; Bruning State Bank; The First State Bank of Holdrege and NPAIT. Roll call vote was Cruise, yes; Gregg, yes; Streeter, yes; Nutt, yes; Malm, yes; Ostgren, yes. Puls absent. Motion carried.

Streeter moved, seconded by Cruise, to designate NACO Phelps County website as one of the official means of publication. Roll call vote was Cruise, yes; Gregg, yes; Streeter, yes; Nutt, yes; Malm, yes; Ostgren, yes. Puls absent. Motion carried.

The Board agreed to retain the current meeting days and times for this year. Which will be the first four Tuesdays of the month and will begin at 9:00 a.m. Gregg moved, seconded by Streeter, to approve the meeting days and time. Roll call vote was Cruise, yes; Gregg, yes; Streeter, yes; Nutt, yes; Malm, yes; Ostgren, yes. Puls absent. Motion carried.

Cruise moved, seconded by Malm, to approve the primary official county newspaper with Holdrege Citizen. Roll call vote was Cruise, yes; Gregg, yes; Streeter, yes; Nutt, yes; Malm, yes; Ostgren, yes. Puls absent. Motion carried.

Cruise moved, seconded by Gregg, to retain the following appointments of Bobby Hamilton as Road Supt & part-time Weed Supt., Justin Norris as Emergency Management; Travis Horner as Veteran's Service Officer and Ron Melbye as part-time Planning and Zoning. Roll call vote was Cruise, yes; Gregg, yes; Streeter, yes; Nutt, yes; Malm, yes; Ostgren, yes. Puls absent. Motion carried.

Nutt moved, seconded by Gregg, to approve the legal holidays and close early dates for 2025, plus, any additional days proclaimed by the Governor to be a state holiday. Roll call vote was Cruise, yes; Gregg, yes; Streeter, yes; Nutt, yes; Malm, yes; Ostgren, yes. Puls absent. Motion carried.

LEGAL HOLIDAYS FOR 2025:

Monday, Jan. 20	Martin Luther King Day	Monday, Sept. 1	Labor Day
Monday, Feb. 17	President's Day	Monday, Oct. 13	Columbus Day
Friday, April 25	Arbor Day floating holiday	Tuesday, Nov. 11	Veterans Day
Monday, May 26	Memorial Day	Thursday, Nov. 27	Thanksgiving
Thursday, June 19	Juneteenth Day	Friday, Nov. 28	Day after Thanksgiving
Friday, July 4	Independence Day	Thursday, Dec. 25	Christmas Day
		Thursday, Jan. 1	New Year's Day, 2026

COURTHOUSE EARLY CLOSE DATES:

Friday, April 18, Good Friday at noon Wednesday, December 24, Christmas Eve at noon Wednesday, December 31, New Year's Eve at 3:00 pm

Cruise moved, seconded by Streeter, to set the mileage rate for 2025 at .70¢ and the sheriff fee for serving papers at .73¢ based on the information from the state auditor. Roll call vote was Cruise, yes; Gregg, yes; Streeter, yes; Nutt, yes; Malm, yes; Ostgren, yes. Puls absent. Motion carried.

The Board approved the 2025 committee appointments.

Streeter moved, seconded by Malm, to approve monthly reports of clerk, sheriff and clerk of district court. Roll call vote was Cruise, yes; Gregg, yes; Streeter, yes; Nutt, yes; Malm, yes; Ostgren, yes. Puls absent. Motion carried.

Matt discussed a meeting he attended.	
The meeting adjourned at 9:43 a.m.	
Sally Fox, County Clerk	Dennis Ostgren, Chairman of the Board